Starry Night

We’re sleeping with our bedroom window and shades open tonight mainly because I want to feel the wind blow without hearing the shades flap all night long. The wind is violently gushing around outside. Though it’s 57 degrees right now, it feels more like 40-something because of the wind.

I love the wind. I’ve always said I had a love affair with the wind. And it always reminds me of God’s presence.

I can’t sleep though. I was browsing through facebook and saw someone post the story of their pregnancy and birth from a year ago and a deep longing was reignited within me. Along with the longing came sadness.

I put my phone away after reading that and stared out the open window. The longing and sadness started becoming overwhelming. Again. But as these thoughts started trying to consume my mind, I saw a twinkle in the night sky. I looked harder. Without my glasses on, it was harder to see things from far away, but not impossible. Another twinkle. Stars! After a few cloudy and rainy days and nights, it was such a welcome to see the stars out. I focused and was able to count four of them, fighting through the clouds to shine.

I couldn’t help but be overjoyed. Who thought something as simple as stars could eliminate feelings of helplessness and sorrow? 

Honestly, I think it was God’s way of preventing me from going into a lull that would cause me needless pain and cause me to see my problems as bigger than my God. And praise the Lord that I saw them.

I’m going to try to sleep now. The window will remain open so I can feel the wind with all its might and see the stars in all their glory.

Goodnight.

Lift up your eyes on high and see who has created these stars. The One who leads forth their host by number, He calls them all by name; Because of the greatness of His might and the strength of His power, not one of them is missing.
– Isaiah 40.26 

2 thoughts on “Starry Night

Leave a Reply

