Oh, Love.

I haven’t written it for a while here, but I am deeply thankful for my husband.

As I was falling asleep last night, I reflected on this fact and my body melted with gratitude for this blessing God had given me in the form of a man who loves me despite my flaws.

Our love is the same, but it’s not. Our love is the same in that I still get butterflies in my stomach when I randomly think about him throughout the day. It’s not the same in that we have evolved and changed so much (and thankfully so) since we started dating four years ago. (Woah, that was so long ago!) We have withstood trials of life we never thought we would experience.

I love that he knows how to make me laugh and how to make me smile even when I don’t want to. I love when in a conversation with other people, we can just look at each other and know what the other is thinking. I love the way he smells and the way he dresses. I appreciate that he tolerates my lack of ability to know lyrics to songs and allows me to attempt for a specified amount of time before changing the song or turning off the radio. I love our races to get upstairs at the end of the night to see who can make it to the bathroom to brush their teeth first. I love that he’s so willing to try things with me, like yoga and cauliflower crust pizza, and knows how to gracefully tell me that “maybe we’ll hold off on trying that again for a while” when I make a dish that’s not particularly appetizing.

God has blessed me with a great gift and for that I am truly thankful. It overwhelms me in the best way sometimes.

One thought on “Oh, Love.

Leave a Reply

