Countdown to Christmas: Song Edition – #6 & #7 – Joy to the World

I’m discovering this Christmas season, as I listen to Christmas songs, I’m paying more attention to the lyrics. For so many years I’ve just sung the words because I knew them but this time around, my heart has been stirred to actually focus on the lyrics, and my mind is being blown.

There is so much promise to so many of the songs that I’m hearing. For example, read: “no more let sins and sorrows grow nor thorns infest the ground. He comes to make his blessings flow [as] far as the curse is found…” These words are thankfully no longer appearing as just rhyming to me but as promises and reasons to celebrate.

Next time you listen to a Christmas song, look up the lyrics and pay attention to them. Pretend as if you have never heard the tune before. I hope it’s as eye-opening for you as it has been for me.

Leave a Reply

