October 15: Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day

Today, October 15, is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day.

Prior to last month, this day was not even on my radar of days to know or acknowledge. Today, I’m thankful for a day dedicated to bringing awareness to this.

The American Pregnancy Association states that 10 to 25 percent of all clinically recognized pregnancies will end in miscarriages. To make it more relateable, that means 1 in 4 women will have a miscarriage. Other websites state that the number is actually around 40 percent when you include a miscarriage before a woman has taken a pregnancy test. So a woman has a late period then has a heavy period following soon after, experts claim that most likely had a miscarriage. She just didn’t know she was pregnant.

One thing that’s been most difficult for me since our miscarriage (and what I’ve discovered from reading others’ blogs) is feeling like we have to justify our grief. “You didn’t even meet the baby yet,” or “it wasn’t even a real baby yet, why are you so sad?” are thoughts and comments most commonly made in an attempt to nullify or hurry along the grief after a miscarriage.

My husband and I believe life begins at conception so for us, this baby was a baby, not just an embryo or fetus. This baby’s conception meant that we became parents. This baby was not mass of tissue that formed, he/she was our first child and will forever be a part of our life story.

Today, I want to honor our child. I am a mom of an angel baby. Matt and I are parents of an angel baby. And although we didn’t get to meet our baby here on this earth, we are so thankful that there will be a day when we will be able to meet our child in Heaven. Our hearts soar with anticipation for that Glorious Day!

For all of you out there who have experienced what we experienced, I pray daily for you, that God will make the grief bearable. That you will experience grace from those around you as you grieve, that you will once again find joy in life. Know that your baby did and always will matter.

Never would I wish what we experienced on anyone. What saddens me is that statistics say 1 in 4 women will have a miscarriage. So, for those 1 in 4 women, know that I’ve started praying for you. I’ve been praying that when that moment comes for you, the Rock of Ages will be your firm foundation like He has been ours through the tears, the broken hearts, the questioning, the anger, and now, the healing.

I can’t wait until that day when the very One I’ve lived for always will wipe away the sorrow that I’ve faced. There will be a day with no more tears, no more pain, and no more fears. There will be a day when the burdens of this place will be no more, we’ll see Jesus face-to-face.

Necklace

One thought on “October 15: Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day

  1. Kri says:

    Sorry for your loss. We also lost our first baby last month and this day was not on my radar either. I pray for you as well and I hope one day you have your rainbow baby. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

