Sleep, Come Softly

I’m having problems falling asleep. Again.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m extremely tired and need to fall asleep, it’s just that… I can’t.

Maybe it’s because I ate too much at my sister-in-law’s birthday party tonight and still have that full feeling. It could be that I’m contemplating life and dissatisfied because I feel like I need to hurry up and get hired for a job because that will make me feel like I’ve fully settled into this new town. Maybe it’s cause I’m missing Forest City and Madagascar in bits and pieces yet all at once, and ache so deeply to return to Madagascar. Maybe… maybe.

It’s probably all of the above, to be honest.

But.

I’m comforted by my husband’s presence next to me in bed. His breathing is deep and constant like his love, support, and encouragement for me daily. I’m comforted by the strong winds blowing the shades somewhat violently as they announce their power. I’ve always had a love for the wind. I’m comforted knowing that even though I don’t see God’s overarching plan for my life right now, He does have one and He promises that it is good. It is so good.

I look forward to waking up tomorrow, not knowing when it was that I actually drifted off into sleep but thankful that sleep did come.

God’s mercies are new every morning.

Thank the Lord.

One thought on “Sleep, Come Softly

  1. Rebekah says:

    I think that God uses those times of sleeplessness to draw us closer to Him, force us to meditate the delicacies like new mercies. Thankfully we serve a God who neither slumbers nor sleeps.

Leave a Reply

