Lovelies: Music Edition

My doctor said that my physical therapy after my surgery is to walk. So I walk a lot. When I get tired of walking outside, I go to stores so I can walk up and down aisles while I look at things. While I walk, I have a lot of time and because I’m not very good at reading while simultaneously walking (yet), I listen to a lot of music.

Here are a few songs that have hit me in that music spot in the past few days. I play each one on repeat until I find the next one, then play that one on repeat, and so on.

Oh How I Need You” – All Sons and Daughters

The lyrics that stand out to me in this song are:

“Lord I find You in the seeking
Lord I find You in the doubt
And to know You is to love You
And to know so little else”

I wish I could write a post about how these four lines echo in the depths of my soul currently but I don’t even know how to form them into words.

Sober” – Little Big Town

I first heard this song a while ago on the radio but wasn’t reintroduced to it again till this past weekend. I love the melody, the mellowness, and the simplicity of the lyrics. Over the past few weeks, with a never-ending winter, being in pain and then having the surgery and now recovering, I’ve tended to overlook the awe and joy I get from loving my husband. He’s here for me, he takes care of me, and I think through everyday dealings, I’ve forgotten how I used to get so much joy from just being able to sit next to him and hold his hand. This song brings that back for me.

“…Lay back with you and close my eyes
Let the big ol’ world just spin on by…
‘Cause I love being in love

It’s the best kind of drug
Drunk on the high, leanin’ on your shoulder
Sweet like a wine as it gets older
When I die I don’t wanna go sober”

Walk

 —

Circle of Life” – Cast of The Lion King Australia

This was fun to come across! It makes me want to go into Broadway so I can travel with a group of people and we can all just break out into song. I told Husband though that the only Broadway play I would try out for is The Lion King and I would have to get the part of Rafiki to even consider it. You better believe I learned every part in this song so I could sing along.

“Believing” – Chip Eston and Lennon Stella

I used to listen to this song a lot before the surgery, not so much now. I often cried when I listened to this song mainly because I was at a point where the pain from my back was too much and I just wanted to dig myself into a big hole and not come out. (Don’t mind the weird talking part in the middle.)

“When I get the feeling that my prayers have hit the ceiling
On those darker days when my faith has lost all meaning, You keep me believing”

You Are God Alone” – William McDowell

If you have ever wanted to move and worship to a song while you get ready in the morning, this is the song. So powerful! I love listening to this song in the mornings because it puts so much into perspective. Add this to your list of wake up songs. My favorite part starts at 2:59!

You’re not a God created by human hands
You’re not a God dependent on any mortal man
You’re not a God in need of anything we can give
By Your plan, that’s just the way it is

You are God alone from before time began
You were on Your throne, You are God alone
And right now, in the good times and bad
You are on Your throne, You are God alone”

I hope you guys enjoy these songs as much as I have!

– m

Leave a Reply

