Oceans: Where Feet May Fail

In 1 1/2 hours, I will be checking into a hospital to have back surgery.

It’s still very surreal for me at times that at the age of 25, I will be having back surgery, but what I’ve learned from this is that this illness is not discriminatory to age.

I’m thankful that I have a very skilled group of doctors and nurses working with me. To be honest, I wouldn’t be doing this if it wasn’t the case. But sometimes my mind runs crazy and I think, “what if something happens during surgery that will leave me paralyzed?” or, “what if they can’t fix my back and I’ll be in pain the rest of my life?” You know, crazy things like that…. I’m trying to remember to take every thought captive.

I’m thankful that not only will Matt be able to be there, but that my parents and two of my siblings are here also. The other two are praying from afar. The support is wonderful.

I’m going to get out of bed and go get ready now. I’m also going to do a few quick chores around the house cause I know I won’t be able to for a while after this surgery.

I feel like I’m about to embark into an ocean of unknown. However, my heart is at peace because I have a great God who is in charge of it all.

You called me out upon the waters, the great unknown where feet may fail. And there I find You in the mystery, in oceans deep my faith will stand.
And I will call upon Your name and keep my eyes above the waves when oceans rise, my soul will rest in Your embrace for I am Yours and You are mine.

3 thoughts on “Oceans: Where Feet May Fail

  1. Rebekah says:

    Thinking of you again this afternoon. I hope my morning comment didn’t sound too trite. Fear and worry are very real things we as humans will struggle with for the rest of our lives. It is not a reflection of a poor faith, but of our human nature.

    • mamisoaseraphine says:

      Your comment didn’t sound trite at all. Thank you for it because it was a great reminder!

      Thank you for your prayers! The surgery went well and I’m on the path to recovery, praise the Lord!

Leave a Reply

