O Death…

This isn’t exactly what I thought I’d be writing my next post about but it’s keeping me up tonight and after only a few hours of sleep last night, I figure it’s good to write about it so sleep can come sooner.

I’m looking through my Facebook feed and there is so much variety in the things people are posting about. It’s fascinating. Someone is saying how they’re addicted to a new show, another friend posted a photo of her and her brother, her brother’s head and neck are secured in a halo – he had a diving accident and injured his spine. She asks for prayers for him. Another friend posts about the Vikings, another about their cat, another about South Dakota. Then I see it, post after post after post containing the words “RIP” and “you were taken too soon” and “I’m in shock.” Each time I refresh my page, more of the same type of posts load. The last time I saw something similar was about a year ago when a friend of mine passed away in his sleep. Today’s posts are from people who lost a friend, a sister-from-another-mother, a teammate to a tragic accident. When I first heard about it, it took my breath away. She was a resident of mine when I was an RA in college. The shock is hitting me more as time goes on.

I can’t even imagine what her family is going through.

I don’t comprehend death (although I don’t think most people can pride themselves on being an expert about it). It’s probably due to the fact that I have not known many people personally who have died. That’s a reason why my friend’s death last year shook my core though. It was just so sudden. This one is also just so sudden.

So many hearts are heavy tonight, so many, and as I look at these other Facebook posts, I see how my friends talking about football and TV and summer trips have no realization of others’ heartaches. Would they think their posts are trivial compared to the posts about this girl who passed away and the grief that has come to so many others? I can’t answer for them.

The only One comforting me right now is the ultimate Comforter Himself. Don’t get me wrong, this girl’s death is not about me at all and forgive me if I’m making it sound like it is, what I’m trying to say is that since so few people I’ve known personally have died, when someone I know does die, it terrifies me. Maybe more on this in future posts.

Right now, I’m clinging to Him who overcame death when He rose from the dead, and I rest in the Truth that one day, death shall be no more and that He will wipe away all tears from the eyes of those who mourn. And I’m praying so fervently for all those who knew Haley, so very, very fervently. I don’t know what else to do but that. I also have Hillsong’s “Take Heart” playing on repeat.

There is Hope should oceans rise and mountains fall – God never fails. In His Name all our fears are swept away – He never fails.
So take heart and let His love lead us through the night. Hold on to Hope and take courage again.
All our troubles and all our tears, God our hope – He has overcome.

Praise the Lord.

Leave a Reply

