This Saturday

Today was a good day. In fact, it was the best Saturday I have had in months.

Despite the fact that around 5 am my body woke up and decided it desired to stay awake, I was able to sleep in until 10 am and when I woke up, I was able to take my time getting ready. I liked that. No rushing.

Around lunch time, Matt and I decided to drive to the next biggest town with a Wal-Mart and Petco to purchase the fish we had been talking about getting. (For Valentine’s Day, I wanted to get him a fish as a present but when I got to the pet store, I found it too overwhelming trying to decide on which fish to get, the fish food, a tank, tank cleaner, etc, so I decided to postpone the purchase. A few days later, he was in Wal-Mart and saw fish and wanted them but didn’t, so when we swapped stories, we knew that the only thing to do was to get  some fish.) We returned from the store with three fish, a fish bowl, fish food, stones for the bowl, and excitement to get everything set up.

830498_10151466477856118_191986520_o

Cantaloupe, February, Zazu

I had the privilege of naming our fish and after some contemplation, I decided to name the yellow fish Cantaloupe because it reminded me of a cantaloupe. The red fish I named February, because we bought the fish in February (and because it’s red and I associate the color red with February). And the blue one I named Zazu because “The Lion King” is one of my favorite movies and bluest thing in the movie is Zazu the bird. So the three newest additions to Matt’s apartment reside in a huge wine glass bowl on top of the book shelf by the door. I think they have come to like their new home.

We’re learning to be fish owners. We’ve both had fish in the past but I don’t know what happened to his and a friend of mine might have purposefully flushed one of my goldfish down the toilet when we had to move and had nowhere to keep it, but this is a new beginning. My goal is to keep them alive for three weeks. Then we go from there. (We already had a scare when I accidentally dumped out too much food into their bowl. They could have overeaten. Oops.)

After getting the fish settled, we decided to finally work on the Chia Gnome thing that Matt’s mom gave to him as a Christmas present. That was indeed a unique experience. We had to soak the gnome in water for an hour, mix the seeds with water for an hour, then pasting the seeds on the gnome’s beard where it would grow.

856574_4371300122181_1455727282_o

It was quite gross-looking, especially since I can’t stand prickly-looking things but I’m excited to see the seeds turn into plants. The instructions say that in a few days and that we should water it daily.

After the gnome was settled in sunlight, I made Matt sit through my weekly catching up on the latest episode of Grey’s Anatomy. It airs on Thursdays but our Thursday night schedules are just weird so we usually watch it on the weekends. That way I have something to look forward to. Intense changes are happening in the show!

The weather was quite perfect today. The sun’s glisten on the snow made the snow pretty so it was difficult to be angry at it for making things cold. Matt wanted to take advantage of the weather and take photos outside in one of the parks around town so we put on warm clothes (I pulled out the snow boots for this!) and set out on an adventure.

(I have to admit that this is the first snow adventure I’ve taken in about two years. The last time I remember being outside to “play” in the snow was my senior year in college where after the last night of our first semester finals , the res life staff and a bunch of students went to a really big hill by one of the cemeteries in town (creepy, I know, but it was a big hill) and went sledding till our gloves were frozen.)

0223131629

Matt walked around the park doing his Matt-photography thing while I pranced around in the snow. I found a big stick and wrote messages in the snow for those who might happen upon them. Most of the messages were “hi!” and “hey.” I confess that I did write a “I’m watching you”  message with the intent of creeping someone out. I hope no one happens upon it in the evening or early morning.

After about 30 minutes, we headed back home. I made chocolate chip pancakes for dinner and we watched a few episodes of “The Cosby Show.” (If you’ve never seen this show, I highly recommend it. Good stuff.) Then we rented the movie “Argo.” My goodness, my blood pressure must have been high for the second two-thirds of the movie. It was a very good movie, by the way, if you’re looking for something to rent. It’s the story of the Americans who were held hostage in Iran during the invading of the American Embassy and the attempt at rescuing them. I’m not giving away anything besides that because I want you to go rent it.

Anyway, small snippets of my wonderful day. It contained a combination of many wonderful things, lots of laughter, and Matt. I think what made it perfect was the fact that we were not obliged to be anywhere, or do anything we didn’t want to do.

Have you ever had one of those days?

Leave a Reply

