Perspective.

Lord, I have a heavy burden of all I’ve seen and know, it’s more than I can handle.
Lord it’s all that I can’t carry and cannot leave behind, it all can overwhelm me.

But when I’m weary and overwrought with so many battles left unfought

I see the long quiet walk along the underground railroad;
I see the slave awakening to the value of her soul;
I see the young missionary and the angry spear, I see his family returning with no trace of fear;
I see the long hard shadows of Calcutta nights;
I see the Sister standing by the dying man’s side;
I see the young girl huddled on the brothel floor, I see the man with a passion come kicking down that door;
I see the man of sorrow and his long troubled road; I see the world on his shoulders and my easy load.

I think of all who’ve gone before and lived a faithful life, their courage compels me.

– Sara Groves, “When the Saints”
Leave a Reply

